I have dyed some worsted weight New Zealand wool yarn and I am ready to begin knitting.  Simple enough, but finding time between work and being a new Mom (I have an 8-week old Corgi pup), has proved to be a challenge of near Sistine Chapel proportions.  I’m excited about blending the novelty yarn with the hand dyed yarn and eager to see how it turns out.  I also wanted to share a pair of my favorite sushi knitting needles from ScaryMerry.  If you love sushi like I love sushi, these will be a must-have for you too!

Mitten Project Supplies

Hand dyed yarn with novelty runner and sushi knitting needles

The first few rows of the cuff are going well.  I’m still trying to decide about the gauge because they don’t seem very substantial.  I can always use another pair of ‘driving mittens’  😉

mitten cuff

Ribbed cuff

The gauge is turning out to be okay for the cuff and body of the mitten but I think this combination of yarn would make for a better sweater weight than for mittens.  I tend to be a freeze baby and would want a thicker pair for being outside for any length of time.  I guess driving mitts it will be when these are finished.

The cuff and lower body

The cuff and lower body

Next you knit and place your stitches on holders to separate a portion of the knitting to form the thumb.  At this stage of the design I know it looks a lot like the response from your insurance company when you submit a claim!

Thumb ready for the seam to be sewn

Thumb ready for the seam to be sewn

I have to take the kids to the ‘pediatrician’ – check back for more knitting updates.

Kaylee the Princess of Corgis

Kaylee the Princess of Corgis

Dicca the Warrior Puppy - Don't be fooled by the innocence!

Dicca the puppy - Don't be fooled by the innocence!

