Let me tell you why I love Ravelry so – This morning I was looking at one of my favorite groups ‘Cowls’ because I am addicted to seeing what’s being done in project do-able time, since I currently have no time!  It’s like looking through Saks 5th Avenue, what would I buy if only I could, or for me, what would I knit if only I had the time…

And so one project led to another, which led to a link to a free pattern, which brought me to Robin Dodge’s website and finally to her new blog MetaPostModernKnitting.  In her MetaTrends she has outlined the fashion forecast for Spring 2009 complete with colors, textures and complementary clothing and accessories.  I immediately gravitated to a silk scarf that has been knit on big needles (read super fast knit-ability).

 

silk scarf

 

I  have several silk blouses that have some sort of acquired defect so they can’t be worn anymore but the quality of the silk was too nice to throw them out.  So they have been waiting patiently for a project to call them to life once again.  It was definitely an artist’s ah-hah moment when I saw this scarf!  After the Great Lakes Fiber Festival, I will be home, scissors in hand, making yarn out of my blouses, maybe dyeing some too to add visual interest, and then knitting happily once again. 

 

Ragsilk

Ragsilk

New yarn for this fall season (from a well known yarn company) turns out to be the very same idea that I have!  Synchronicity strikes again! 

